RSS

Blue Tits (Cyanistes caeruleus)

26 Mar

”Home is where the heart is,” as the old saying goes. As I write this blog, I’m preparing myself and my sons to leave our home of ten years. We have had the best of times and the worst of times, in our beautiful apartment and it is with heavy hearts that we leave our beloved home. Change is just around the corner – we boldly go towards it!

”Feel the fear and do it anyway!”  Susan Jeffers.

So, what has all of that got to do with blue tits? Well, let me start by explaining for the last two years just outside our kitchen window, blue tits have made a hole in the wall cavity and created a nest for to hatch their babies, okay not babies, their chicks. 😉 Last year after hatching the water from the nest drying out and goodness knows what else made a lovely half moon water (tide-mark) on our kitchen ceiling, just above our boiler, I can see why this is a great spot for them – lots of heat every now and then from the internal water pipes. These beautiful creatures pop in and out everyday with twigs to make the nest, I watched last year with pure joy and with plenty of awe! To my great surprise they came back again around two weeks ago. I watch everyday as the blue tits fly in and out of my apartment wall all the while – I’m watching these beautiful birds as they dive in and out of the fantastic greenery that we have outside our home which borders between us and the local church just across the way. The bird song outside our windows is so incredible as we have a myriad of bushes and trees for them to hang out in, all sorts of foliage which is a delight to be near. I need to confess, I’m not big on knowing the names of all of these bushes but the trees I can name, thank heaven for my primary school field trips! Soon, we will hear the chicks chirping away and it will sound so wonderful, even more wonderful because it will sound so loud in our kitchen just like they were born in our actual apartment the sound just vibrates through our home; it is totally incredible to listen in on nature and new life starting.

Going back now to the start of this note, as we prepare to leave our home it makes me feel really happy to know that maybe these little blue tits will come back year after year, and that for the last two years that they chose our apartment to share. We can’t be that bad to live with!

My mission now is to try to capture some photographs of the blue tits to accompany this blog, even just one photogragh – blurry or otherwise! I’m going to put this note into the draft until I get one.

Will this note get to be published? Well, at this point who knows?!

Mission FAIL!

Okay, so no photograph. But I have a reason… Due to that fact that my car just stopped in the middle of the road yesterday morning as I was driving my sons to school. I was driving at around 35 mph and the car just stops running and all in the middle of fast morning traffic!! Came to an abrupt halt on a double-blind bend just before a hump bridge. All I’m saying is… Thank you to our Guardian Angels! It was really scary!! I’m was a bit shaky all day! Glad to be home after the event, missed writing my blog & of course no blue tit photograph, which had been my project & mission for yesterday. All is well that ends well – as for the  car… knackered!

So I will publish without a photograph of the blue tits but will I will post a photograph underneath… Let me think now, hmm, which one shall I post? 🙂

Photo: ‘The View from my Window.’

Flaxton

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 26, 2011 in Notes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
