RSS

Dreamcatcher

29 Mar

I took out an old diary
Written words to catch my dreams
I’d forgotten all about it
A place & time lost to history
In my mind – it still feels real to me

I read each page
I traced my finger over
Lost written lines – and now
I dedicate my past to my future
Within these lines appears an aperture

Those past dreams are still mine
I’d forgotten to keep them with me
Dreams are dreams, sleeping or awake
Yellow stained pages remind me to
Live them again every single day

Endless days I thought they’d always last
Looking at each memory like a photograph
Pasting them in a book of new – the here & now
Catching my dreams for today

I took out an old diary
Written words to catch my dreams
I’d forgotten all about it
Yellowed pages – aged by the years
A dreamcatcher to remind me of my dreams

© C. Flaxton

This poem we used as lyrics (edited) for our band Deep River Running, to listen, please visit: http://www.myspace.com/deepriverrunning ‘Dreamcatcher.’

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
